Site Tools


Supported message levels

Level Descriptions

Levels can be combined together into a level description. It's like a bit-mask. Separate the levels with commas. You can turn off a level by prefixing it with a hyphen (“-”). Turning off a level is usually done after the ALL level (see below).

Example Description
MSGS Only the MSGS level
MSGS,PUBLICS All MSGS and all PUBLICS, but nothing else
MSGS,PUBLICS,-PUBLICS Only the MSGS level (PUBLICS got turned off)
ALL Every level shown below
ALL,-MSGS Every level shown below but not the MSGS level

Levels are per-server

Except for the DCCS level, each server refnum has its own distinct set of levels. This means if you have 4 servers, then each of those 4 servers has its own PUBLICS level, and the PUBLICS level on one server does not correspond to the PUBLICS level on another server.

Each window in the client is associated with a server, and each window claims one or more levels on behalf of that server. This is how the client decides which window your output will go to: all output from the client has a level associated with it, and the client looks for the window associated with that server that claims that level, and puts the output there. (Oh, yes, I know there are exceptions to this…)

The DCC level is global, because DCCs do not belong to a server. So only one window in the entire client is supposed to have the DCC level at a time. This window should receive all output regarding DCC activity.

You can create your own levels

The client supports dyanmic level creation, but not dynamic level deletion. You can create your own levels, or create alias names for existing levels using the levelctl function.

Remember that levels are just a bitmask. Each bit only exists once, but each bit has one or more names.


This is a list of message levels that window level, ignore, flood and lastlog commands use.

Level Description
OTHER Everything not covered by another level. (CRAP is an alias for backwards compatability)
PUBLICS Messages sent or received to channels
MSGS Messages sent or received between users
WALLS Messages sent to a group of people (but not channels)
NOTICES Notice messages of any kind
WALLOPS Wallop messages of any kind
OPNOTES Notice messages sent by the server to operators
SNOTES Notice messages sent by the server to you
ACTIONS CTCP ACTION messages of any kind.
DCCS DCC sends, gets and chats.
CTCPS CTCP messages of any kind.
INVITES Invitations to join a channel
JOINS Notifications that someone has joined a channel you are on
NICKS Notifications that someone has changed nicks
TOPICS Notifications that someone has changed the topic
PARTS Notifications that someone has left a channel you are on without leaving irc
QUITS Notifications that someone has left a channel you are on and have left irc
KICKS Notifications that someone has ejected someone else from a channel you are on
MODES Notifications that someone has changed the mode of a channel you are on.
SYSERR Error messages from system events (such as networking)
USER1 You can use these levels for anything you want.
ALL (special) All of the levels.
NONE (special) None of the levels.
levels.txt · Last modified: 2009/06/05 02:49 by